Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time . Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own .

Discuss both these views and give your opinion .

It is believed by many people that parents ought to provide encouragement to their children to engage in group activities during their leisure time . While others emphasise the importance of having children learning the art of keeping oneself busy. In my opinion , I consider that participation in team recreational activities has a beneficial effect on both the social and emotional skills as well as skill development of children .

On one hand , some people think it is necessary to push kids towards participation in recreational team activities and I agree with this view as it has a profound influence on social and interpersonal skills . In other words , Doing an activity along with other children enables them to interact with each other and fosters communication between children . For example : kids overcome shyness and hesitation of talking to their peers by indulging in classes like storytelling , extempore ,group discussion classes , group dance. Also, especially kids whose both parents are working and kids are often left with the caregivers , this is a great chance for them to bond and make new friends . Furthermore , it keeps them healthy and mentally astute . For example , playing group sports like basketball , football and cricket has enormous benefits on their health and mental well-being.

On the other hand , kids engaging in activities on their own provides them a feeling of independence and being responsible which ultimately leads to development of critical life skills such as decision making . For example : At home , kids often choose between things to keep themselves busy like doing non-fire cooking , simple household chores or playing with their own toys , watching Tv or dancing . This fosters decision making in the young minds.

Moreover , it is the most cost effective way to keep kids occupied and content . In other words , It saves a lot of finances for some families who may not be able to afford to enroll their kids in expensive clubs.

In conclusion , although kids who acquire the learning of keeping themselves enjoy lots of benefits in their lives , their participation in specialised group activities is the need of an hour in this technological world where majority of kids are addicted to screens.