Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time . Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own .

Discuss both these views and give your opinion .

It is believed by many people that parents ought to provide encouragement to their children to engage in group activities during their leisure time. Whereas others emphasise the importance of having children learning the art of keeping themselves busy. In my opinion, I consider that participation in team recreational activities has a beneficial effect on the social skills as well as the health of children.

On one hand, some people think it is necessary to push kids towards participation in recreational team activities and I agree with this view as it improves social and interpersonal skills. In other words, doing an activity along with other children enables them to interact with each other and fosters communication between children. For example, kids overcome shyness and hesitation of talking to their peers by indulging in classes like storytelling , extempore, group discussion classes, and group dance. Also, especially kids whose both parents are working and kids are often left with the caregivers, this is a great chance for them to make new friends. Furthermore, certain group activities help in keeping them healthy and mentally astute. For example, playing group sports like basketball, football and cricket has enormous benefits on their health and mental well-being.

On the other hand, kids engaging in activities on their own provides them a feeling of independence and being responsible which ultimately leads to development of critical life skills such as decision making. For example, At home, kids often choose between things to keep themselves busy like doing non-fire cooking, simple household chores or playing with their own toys, watching Tv or dancing. This fosters decision making in the young minds.

Moreover, it is the most cost effective way to keep kids occupied and content. In other words, It saves a lot of finances for some families who may not be able to afford to enroll their kids in expensive clubs conducting such activities.

In conclusion, while many people vary in their opinions, I think that kids participation in specialised group activities is the need of the hour as it oversomes isolation and keeps kids physically and mentally fit.