Some people like to travel outside their country. Others would rather travel to tourist spots in their own country first, before travelling abroad. Which do you prefer to do and why? Include specific details and examples to support your choice.

With an unprecedented surge in the globalization, both international as well as local tourism have become predominant. A lot of people are travelling for the purpose of enjoyment. However, some affluent people prefer travelling to other parts of the world, whereas, others consider travelling locally, considering their strict budget and love towards their nation. In my opinion, both the options are worthwhile, but before opting for international tourism, an individual should explore his own country first.

There are a plethora of factors behind preferring local tourism over global tourism. Travelling within the country, firstly, is a cost effective option as the travel expenses is greatly reduced as domestic flights are much cheaper than international flights. Therefore, if one has a tight and constraint budget, then, domestic tourism is the best option. Cultural understanding of one’s own country, secondly, is very important to have and it is always recommended to get to know about our own culture and traditions before others. Finally, local tourism would greatly help boosting our own economy since tourists generally pump enormous amount of money into the local economy they visit. Therefore, it is obviously a better option to uplift our own economy first.

On the other hand, other people argue that cross-boundary travel will help us learn about other cultures and see the great wonders such as, the Great Wall in China and St. Petersburg’s Palace in Russia. There is no denying the fact that travelling the world is a wonderful experience. However, it is also true that not all people can afford it. Furthermore, a better option is to cut-down on travel expenses by switching to domestic excursions and invest more in education and health of our family.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that both local and international tourism have their own pros and cons, and to select one among them is more of a personal choice, which depends on financial circumstances of an individual. However, in my opinion, considering the benefits the local tourism brings to one’s own nation, domestic tourism must be encouraged.