Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English. Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so how?

In today’s globalized world, where English is undoubtedly the most widely spoken language throughout the world as a result, it is the only primary language taught at schools, leaving behind the regional languages and are at the verge of its extinction. In my opinion, it is undeniable fact that learning English is an ultimate must for everyone. However, alongside English, it is also important to keep alive one’s own mother-tongue, as it represents the culture and the civilization of a society. In this essay I shall present the reasons behind the necessity of English followed by proposing corrective measures to save the local languages.

Firstly, one of the most vital reasons behind learning English at schools is the fact that it is the most predominant and widely spoken language throughout the globe, making it as a lingua franca at businesses and universities. For instance, all the prestigious universities of the world have English as the only medium of communication. Therefore, in order for students to prosper in education, learning English becomes a prerequisite. Furthermore, to have international prospects such as immigration, jobs, and higher education an individual needs to prove his/her English skills in the form of official language tests like IELTS and TOEFL, making it an absolute must to learn at schools.

On the other hand, regional languages are equally important as they represents the culture and the tradition of an entire race. Killing of a language indirectly implies killing of one’s own identity. Therefore, it is incumbent on the citizenry to strive hard to preserve the mother tongue, as it is an important cultural identity having deep relationship with the religion and the race. Furthermore, in order to restore the lost and glorious languages, the public authorities in collaboration with schools and responsible intellectuals of the society must design a secondary language at schools and make it mandatory part of the curriculum. More importantly, parents must ingrain the habit of speaking and writing their own regional language at home which helps in preserving it.

To conclude, it is unanimously agreed that the English is and will always be the most widely spoken language throughout the globe and it is basic requirement for an individual to attain job and education. Therefore, it is a must. However, local languages are the heart of one’s culture and should also be retained.