In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In many countries, a number of mortalities related to shootings have been surging year on year, and there are ample evidences to conclude that these disturbing incidents are direct result of allowing to keep arms at home.

There are numerous reasons to prove that having weapons at home can lead to fatal incidents. Children, firstly, are most vulnerable to such deadly equipment. Having not enough maturity, they often do not have the requisite knowledge to handle them. Out of curiosity, adolescents tend to explore these weapons without the knowledge of their guardians and can lead to devastating accidents. For instance, a recent report from the government of New Delhi concluded that, approximately 150 – 155 accidents are directly related to domestic weapons.

Domestic disputes, secondly, can also be aggravated and can sometimes result in shootings. For example, a heated conversation or fight between a couple can sometimes get physical. However, at that moment of anger, if one of them have access to a weapon, then they might end-up killing the other. Therefore, some people may lose control over rage and shot the other person and realize his mistake later, which obviously, would be too late. Domestic conflicts, above all, are intensifying in today’s time, due to increased divergence, racial discrimination and surging immigration. Therefore, having easy access to fatal weapons is unhealthy for a nation. Newzealand, for instance, has been shocked by a recent deadly terrorist attack where a young white supremacist brutally killed 50 innocent people by firing at them. This would not have been possible for him had the government imposed stricter gun policies.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that having guns or any other weapons at home undoubtedly increases the chances of domestic killings and accidents. Therefore, it is high time for the government to impose strict restrictions on weapons. Otherwise, normal citizens feel that they are living in insecure and vulnerable society.