In modern society, many people think primary schools should teach science and technology rather than history and geography, which are useless and boring.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s technologically advanced society, primary and secondary schools are increasingly giving importance to curriculum focusing only on science and technology. This, I believe is a negative development. Although, it is undeniable that science and technology are important in today’s time. However, other subjects such as geography, arts, history, and literature are equally important because society needs a pool of younger generation having various talents and expertise.

Science and technology, on the one hand, are enjoying a serious upsurge in their popularity and a majority of students and parents advocate that they are must for a child to survive in this competitive world. They believe that, studying them not only prepare an individual for future career challenges but also make them smart and intelligent. What is more, multi-national companies and businesses are inclined towards hiring job hoppers with an in-depth insight of advancements in the technology. Naturally, such a trend, compels students, parents, and academic institutions to focus only on fostering knowledge that helps them land on a job with steady income and satisfaction.

Geography, history, and arts, on the other hand, are equally important subjects and they should not be belittled in comparison with studies related to technology. Thousands of years of human history and experience, obviously, does have a lot to teach us. For instance, studying the biography of the great intellectuals such as Charles Darwin, Einstein, Abraham Lincoln, does teach us human skills for the betterment of the society. Furthermore, learning history definitely will help us to ponder over the mistake done by the humanity in the past and make more informed decision in our present and future.

From the above argument, it seems to me that, for an overall development of a student, it is must for the primary and secondary schools to provide a blend of a wide range of knowledge from various subjects. This definitely will help them become a better, smarter and intellectual personality.