Some people think that all children should learn geography in school. However, some others think that it is more important to learn subjects that are more relevant to life. What is your opinion?

With an unprecedented development in the realms of science and technology, there is now an increasing debate if geography is out-of-date in today’s time and have little relevance and therefore should be removed. Others, still believe that geography is an ever-green and core subject which fosters a child general knowledge, and thus is indispensable and schools must continue teaching it. In my opinion, although, updating school curriculum to match with fast paced technological development is good, however, subjects such as geography and arts imparts students with mandatory general knowledge and should be mandatory part of curriculum.

Geography, firstly, is the only subject that deals with the physical and geometric aspects of our universe. Knowledge of which, I believe, is absolutely a must. We cannot imagine our future generation of educated people having no idea about the basic facts of our planet. Climatic knowledge gained by studying geography, secondly, is also necessary for a student to have, especially, during current times where the global environmental deterioration as a result of drastic climate change is on rise. Therefore, we and our future generation will not be able to tackle this spiny problem, if we are not taught about it at the first place. Basic facts about the countries and their locations, finally, is also required, as many corporates and businesses look for candidates having sound general knowledge on various fields of life.

On the other hand, few people argue that studying geography does not add any value to a child’s future and consider it to be obsolete. They believe that we must concentrate on much more important subjects such as science and technology. Those people, as per me are short-sighted and they see only the immediate benefits of a child’s education. Studying technology is definitely beneficial and there is no denying this fact. However, other subjects too have their own benefits which may not be evidently perceivable, but have a long-term benefit to a student and a society at large.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that current students are our future generation and they must have a fine blend of knowledge from various fields, including traditional subjects like geography and history, as well as, today’s relevant one’s such as science and technology.