Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

Ever since the initiation of urbanization, the living standards in metropolitan cities are deteriorating. There are numerous reasons behind this disturbing trend. However, in my opinion, the main culprit is face-paced modernization. In order to address this issue, both efficient government policies and awareness among the people are important to tackle this seemingly insurmountable problem.

The population explosion in urban cities, firstly, is the most obvious driving factor behind the decreasing living standards. With an unprecedented surge in both the birth rate and migration from rural areas has led to increased population in the big cities. As a result, inflation in retail and housing industries has reached record levels. Pollution and traffic congestion, secondly, are a big headache to both the citizens and the government which ultimately leads to decreasing living standards. As per a recent report from the WHO (World Health Organization), even though the pace of modernization and development in the world is an all-time high, the living standards and citizen’s satisfaction, especially in urban society is at record lows.

In order to address this challenging problem, both the government and the people need to work hand-in-hand. To begin with, the government must fund more public awareness programs both at local and national levels to encourage people to be more environmentally friendly. For instance, they must be insisted to use the public transport system rather than using private cars. This simple change can lead to reducing traffic congestion and air pollution, ultimately resulting in a better environment. Public, on the other hand, should understand the gravity of the situation and be much more responsible by changing the attitude towards living. For instance, instead of pursuing to live in bigger and luxurious houses, they must look to live in smaller and more functional homes. Consequently, the rise in real-estate prices can be controlled and all the people can afford to have a roof over their heads at an affordable price.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that an upsurge in population and indifferent attitudes of the people have resulted in squalid urban lifestyle. Therefore, it is high time for both the people and the government to take corrective and timely actions to improve the living conditions.