Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

Many children have a hobby of breeding pet animals and they simply love doing it. However, there is now a growing debate among the people if it is good for children’s development or does it have negative influence on their health. Despite the fact that certain health complications might arise if the pets are not kept clean, I still believe that the positives of having a pet outweigh the negatives.

Allowing children to have pets brings a plethora of benefits to their psychological development in many different ways. Compassion, firstly, is the most important quality a child learns from grooming the pets. In the process of taking care of domestic animals, it is obvious that a child learns how to take care of them, feed them at right times and vaccinate them when they fall ill. As a result, a child becomes soft-hearted towards their colleagues and siblings.

Psychological development and creativity, secondly, are greatly boosted when a child fosters the habit of having pets. A child gains lot of general knowledge when they learn about the various breeds and the different necessities each animal have. A recent research at Cambridge University of Medical sciences has concluded that children having the noble habit of taking care of pet animals have shown to possess better creativity and higher power of persistence. Therefore, there is clearly some correlation between these positive characteristics with the hobby of keeping pets.

On the other hand, some medical professionals have also raised concerns relate to medical complications. Such as, asthma and viral infections as a result of having pets at home. Although, this is true to some extent but these conditions arise mostly when we do not practice cleanliness. However, if we take care of their health and cleanliness seriously then issues can be avoided. Furthermore, they have to be frequently vaccinated against the viral infections.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that children having habit of breeding the pets is obviously a positive aspect, especially, considering the enormous benefits it brings in the overall development of a child. Therefore, I staunchly support the idea of allowing the growing children to have an accompanying growing pet partner.