It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason younger workers are to be preferred. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In today’s modernized world, where businesses around the world are achieving unprecedented levels of innovations, requiring extreme levels of agility in business model. To do so, certain section of corporate sector believes that only younger generation of workers suits such work environment. Whereas, others have contrasting views. In my opinion, for any business to prosper, a perfect mix of all age groups is necessary.

Firstly, it is undeniable fact that experienced professionals over 50 years, generally possess better business understanding and decision making capabilities. Therefore, responsiveness and business agility is an outcome of smart business decisions which are made better by elder employees. For instance, leaders and executive members of most multinational companies are senior people, such as Larry Page of Oracle Technologies and Narayana Murthy of Infosys Technologies both are over 50 years of age. Secondly, the art of responsiveness and innovation is independent of age and is rather related to an individual’s zeal towards innovation. Furthermore, in a business, various roles are acquired by different age groups. For example, positions such as Project Manager, Team Lead and Senior consultant requires aged professionals, this in no means imply that they lack business agility. Whereas, the contrary may be true.

On the other hand, certain job roles, demanding strenuous workload alongside extreme vitality suits younger blood. For instance, positions such as software engineer, mechanical technicians and construction site engineers are generally apt for junior candidates. However, to assist them in right direction, senior management having capabilities of taking strategic decisions are incumbent. More importantly, a fundamental reason behind business having inclination towards hiring youngsters, is the fact that they are comparatively cheaper, yielding to better corporate savings. However, such business model may not yield optimum results in longer run.

To conclude, for a business to truly achieve its vision along with maintaining high standards of service, it is necessary to have balanced experience of various age groups. Furthermore, seniors have had enormous influence in uplifting various top class organization in all facades of businesses. Therefore, a fine blend of seniors and juniors is a basic prerequisite for any business model.