Some People think that all school should learn a foreign language. Others think that a student should not be required to learn a foreign language if he or she does not have talent for it.

It is true that the need to learn foreign languages such as English and French has become increasingly important. As a result, many people do support to make it a mandatory part of the academic curriculum. Whereas, others argue to keep it optional and not obligating it on academically poor students. In my opinion, considering the increasing trend of the globalization, it has become crucial to learn at least one foreign language in order to secure better career and educational prospects.

There are a plethora of reasons for supporting the concept of bilingualism. The globalization, firstly, is one of the most obvious factors to make it a need of an hour to be able to communicate with ease in globally dominant language – English. It is a universally acknowledged fact that, the English has become the lingua franca in almost all the facades of life. Secondly, People who have better linguistic skills in English have brighter job and education opportunities. India, for instance, has made English as a mandatory part of the curriculum at all levels of education, starting from primary school, secondary school, and up until the highest degree in universities. Therefore, the ability to communicate in English has become a prerequisite to survive and work in top multi-national companies.

More importantly, each and every student must have equal opportunities to learn, and the very concept of segregating the students on the basis of their learning capabilities is indeed an incorrect ideology. The consequence of such a discrimination would lead to unequal career opportunities and increased gaps in the talent of students. This leads to, an imbalance in the overall literacy rates and talent pools. We do not want our society to have two different extremes, where a certain proportion of students who are labeled as talented do have the capabilities to showcase their interpersonal skills on the international platform, whereas, others cannot communicate with anyone out of their geographical boundaries.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that, in today’s competitive world, learning at least one globally dominant language such as English, French, or German has become increasingly important, and will definitely provide a career boost. Therefore, I staunchly support the idea of making English a mandatory part of studies for all the students, irrespective of their inherent talents.