Today more people are travelling than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of travelling for the traveler?

In today’s world of globalization, where travelling and tourism among the people has reached an unprecedented levels and has become very common in all parts of the world. There are numerous factors behind this positive development bringing a plethora of benefits to both the individuals and the society.

Firstly, one of the significant factors behind booming travel industry is the advent of the globalization, where different cultures get to known each other and do business. As a result, more and more people require to cross borders for both personal as well as professional needs. For example, couple of decades ago, very rarely people from India were aware of numerous tourist places in the USA. Whereas, today due to the globalization, almost all the countries’ population knows ins and outs of other countries.

Secondly, in last couple of decades, the cost of travelling has slumped enormously, as a result, it is very cheap and affordable for the citizenry to travel across the globe. For example, a decade ago to travel from India to Dubai was out of reach of common person, but today, it hardly cost 20 thousand rupees to take a decent tourist package. Furthermore, boom in tourism by various countries through the media and internet has catalyzed the process of ingraining want for the people to travel.

On the other hand, travelling does brings a myriad of benefits to the citizenry, making them explore, appreciate, and learn new cultures and traditions across the planet. Furthermore, it is considered to be the best way of reducing stress and rejuvenating oneself. A recent study done at National Health Services (NHS) in the Europe has suggested that, the best way to treat depression and anxiety is to take-off from the work and go for an expedition to other parts of the world like mountains, waterfalls etc. More importantly, travelling improves the family bonding, as the entire family can spend quality time together.