Many governments in the world spend large amounts of money on art, which helps to improve the quality of people’s lives. However, governments should spend money on other things rather than art. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Many nations across the globe have been investing huge amounts of money on decorative art projects. Although, it is good to improve a nation’s cultural identity by up-lifting the artistic values of a society. However, other important necessities such as housing, food, and medical services should be our higher priority than artistic projects. In my opinion, investments in arts might be good for some wealthy nations, but other lesser developed nations have other critical problems to deal with.

The global economic crisis, firstly, has impacted almost all the nations across the globe, as a result, numerous poor African and Asian countries are going through one of the worst economic times. Therefore, under such circumstances where people do not even have access to food, clean drinking water, and sanitation, it is hard for me to believe that the governments can even think of the artistic appearance of the nation. Money spent on the art projects, secondly, is paid by the government from the taxpayer’s money, which, obviously, is not justifiable. Why would the lower class citizens support their hard-earned money spent on valueless arts projects, when they have other pressing problems to be addressed by the public authorities.

On the other hand, certain people are of an opinion that art is important in a society and they feel that the money spent on it is justified. Indeed art is important, and there will always be artists in society. The debate is, should the money be spent on art when we have substandard education and medical facilities? Of course not. More importantly, wealthier countries, such as, the USA, the UK and China must help lesser developed ones by paying financial aids, instead of lavishly spending on luxurious arts. This will lead to improving living standards of a plethora of poor people.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that all lesser developed nations must stop artistic projects and redirect the funds for the betterment of their citizens. Developed nations, moreover, should understand their social responsibility and reduce spending on art and help lesser developed nations instead.