Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers. Why do young people not want to be a teacher? How this could be changed?

In today’s industrialized world, it is undeniable fact that younger generation prefer working for advanced field of technology or medical sciences, leaving a minor proportion of them joining the field of academics. There are numerous factors behind this negative development. In this essay I shall enlist potential reasons behind this trend, followed by proposing certain viable solutions to improve the deteriorating conditions.

Firstly, the most vital factor behind younger generation avoid being a teacher is the meager remunerations it brings. Furthermore, life of a teacher is believed to be stagnant, lacking opportunities and promotions making it a less lucrative career profession. Secondly, academic instructor’s profession is projected as mundane lacking excitements and challenges. On the contrary, in current times, professionals are often inclined towards challenging and exciting careers. Thirdly and more importantly, number of institutions and universities are relatively fewer, with handful of openings for fresh teachers. As a result, knowing the fact that there are no ample future openings, students does not opt this career at first place.

On the other hand, public authorities in collaboration with citizenry can solve this problem in three ways. First and foremost by increasing budgetary allocation on this noble field and provide lucrative increase in pay scales along with additional benefits, similar to what an engineer working for multinational company receives. More importantly, education sector must expand itself by opening newer branches with more openings and promotions. Finally, institutions must collaborate with other international institutions providing training sessions attracting youngsters to join this field.

To conclude, since the time immemorial, teaching professions is and will always be considered a noble profession. However, due to unattractive financial benefits along with inappropriate promotion policies made younger blood stray away from this profession. However, revamped policies along with revised financial planning can restore its lost glory.