Students in school and university learn far more by lessons with their teachers compared to other sources (example: television and internet). Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s technologically advanced world, where internet and television has become backbone of the society. Albeit such a development, certain section of the society believes that teachers still are most prominent source of learning for high school and university students. Whereas, others have contrasting views. In my opinion, teachers plays most crucial part in student’s education and can never have an alternative.

Firstly, it is undeniable fact that from the time a child is admitted into school, teachers acts as main source of ingraining important knowledge in them and provides a strong foundation in early stages of life. Secondly, the academic concepts and teachings provided by teachers are streamlined and well directed with a focus of achieving academic curriculum. Furthermore, mentors are a reliable and authentic source of information unlike the Internet. Thirdly, teachers provides individual attention to each candidate, as they are well aware of each of their shortcomings. Whereas, internet and TV doesn’t always provide appropriate content. More importantly, teachers adds up to the learning process by including examinations, evaluations and assignments which are fundamental means of catalyzing the learning process.

On the other hand, No doubt that Internet and media contents are beneficial to society, as it opens the gates to infinite amount of information. However, such plethora of information may lead to confusion and learning of unauthentic information. Furthermore, information over web is published by immature people having almost nil or very less information. Therefore, such a source considered to be unreliable and inefficient. Additionally, internet and TV are considered to be a major source of time killers in adolescents, as they provide numerous means of distractions, such as social networking, movies etc. as a result, students may waste time on computer instead of actual learning.

To conclude, teachers and mentors were, are and will always be primary source of learning no matter how fast the technology grows. However, advanced means of learning such as internet are additional ways acting as add-on to personal training but cannot completely replace them.