In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world of capitalism, where the businesses and the governments pays a huge pay-slips to only few highly qualified people. As a result, certain section of society believes that such a trend is positive for national progress. Whereas, others have contrasting views suggesting the government to regulate the pay scales, in order to maintain financial equality among citizenry. In my view, for a nation to have economic progress, it is must to pay higher rewards to best performers. However, a minimum salary for all professions must be enforced by the government.

Firstly, one of the most fundamental criteria behind higher remuneration is higher qualifications. Therefore, higher qualifications means higher competition and better education which leads to increasing adult literacy rates, ultimately leading to developed nation. For example, as per recent figures released by USA’s national job market, engineers are among top 5 highest paid professions. As a result, increased proportion of younger generation are getting attracted towards this field, leading to more education nation. Secondly, higher remuneration improves global economic reputation of a nation and attracts better skilled labors from across the globe. For instance, USA attracts plethora of skilled workers from countries like India and China, as it provides extremely high average salaries.

On the other hand, this phenomenon of pay scale difference had resulted into unprecedented levels of gap between the rich and the poor. Moreover, certain people believe that such an unequal wealth distribution would lead to socially immoral model and dissatisfaction among economically backward society. More importantly, corporates and businesses exploits blue collar professionals by paying extremely meager pays.

To conclude, for a nation to prosper and gain global reputation in business, it is must to provide lucrative packages to talented professionals. However, in order to maintain a fine balance between rich and poor, public authorities must enforce strict labor laws of setting a minimum lower threshold for all the professions. This shall ensure in having fair policies for low grade professions.