Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the danger of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion asserting that the best groups of people to warn adolescents about the negative consequences of violating laws are those who have already been kept in jail and then became free and a good resident afterwards. I, for one, only partially agree with the given statement on the basis of some compelling reasons.

On the one hand, these so-called former delinquents may carry invaluable lessons with themselves. Being behind bars for some time and becoming free again to compensate for their mistakes, these former criminals now are completely aware of the negative results of acts of crime. Letting the youth hear their speech and their appalling experiences would lay the groundwork for deterrent of any feasibility of teenagers to fall prey to crime in the future. These previously felons would also provide illuminations about the main culprits that made them break the law in the first place. Thus, adolescents would get a good understanding of what specific behavior would lead them to dangerous activities.

On the other hand, the reason why I think these former prisoners might not be the best people for this matter is that young teenagers might choose them as their role models. In other words, they might conceive that no matter what they do, even if they commit a crime, one day they become free again. So, they can continue living without any problems. Therefore, they might not take acts of violence and crime seriously. There could also be bad advice in wrongdoers' consultation. In fact, there is no guarantee that all they counsel children to do, or not to do, is sound and wise. Thus, other means of deterring teenagers from the imminent dangers of committing felonies seem more logical.

In conclusion, I am not entirely against the idea of using former lawbreakers that are now good citizens to tell about the possible dangers of juvenile crimes. However, it seems that there could be better measures to be employed in this respect.