Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument whether or not reformed ex-prisoners should be in a better position to speak to teenagers about the repercussion of criminal offences, and therefore discourage them from breaking the law. This discourse agrees that they are the best people to do so since they have experienced the punishment. Notwithstanding, these and more will be explored, accordingly.

Undoubtedly, some exponents are of the view that those previously convicted are not in a better position to offer a good advice. Apparently, the rationale behind their stance might possibly be because of the adage that says "once a criminal is always a criminal". In other words, ex-prisoners has nothing positive to render to this young adolescents, and after serving this prison terms, they have neither ambition nor source of livelihood; hence, they end up committing more felony later on. Take for instance, my cousin, Emeka, who was imprisoned for murder, and after serving the allocated jail term; consequently, could no longer live a normal and productive life since 10 years of his discharge. Therefore, from the above, it is evident that an ex-convict would end up misleading this young adult if he has nothing positive to offer.

However, taking a look from the flip side, could the contenders of the view that allowing such people to speak to teenagers about their experiences be absolutely right? Certainly, the rationalization behind their argument might be because those people have experienced punishment associated with these crimes, and hence will be able to educate as well as discourage young people from threading on such path. A good example illustrating this is a survey conducted by Association of Corporal Punishers in Nigeria, in 2018, on the impact of reformed-offenders admonishing teenagers, it revealed that it has 89% success rate. Hence, from this it is obvious that adolescent people are more likely to accept advice from someone who can speak

from experience.

In conclusion, having explored both vantage points, I completely consent to the hilt that people who have turned their lives around after serving a prison sentence could help to deter teenagers from committing crimes.