It is generally accepted that exercise is good for children and teenagers. Therefore,

physical education and sport should be compulsory for all students in all schools.

What do you think?

An Interesting feature of the twenty-first century is the general acceptance of exercise as necessary in the life of adolescents and children. Some people argue that health education and sports should be a mandatory part of all schools’ curriculum, which every student ought to take part in, and I agree with this viewpoint. This discourse will explore the rationale behind this argument in the following paragraphs.

One of the significant reasons why exercises and physical educational training should be mandatory is to teach children on how to be physically fit. This is due to the fact that a habit cultivated at childhood will remain permanent, which will be part and parcel of their life even at adulthood. For instance, a survey conducted by Habitual Facts of Nigeria in 2014, revealed that 72% of the habits exhibited by adults were acquired when they were younger. Moreover, when children are exposed to exercises at a tender age, illnesses such as knee pain, and rheumatism experienced by older people would be minimized.

Another justification for my point of view is because helps to motivate teenagers for active learning. The reason for this is that participation in other extra-curriculum activities will not only encourage children’s learning ability, but also help to activate and further develop their brain power. A good example illustrating this is a study by Effective Learning Institute of Nigeria in 1998, it shown that 52% of children’s brain cells are developed, especially when fully engaged in physical sporting activities. Evidently, it is clear that exercise is excellent for teens and children; therefore, it should be encouraged in all schools.

In conclusion, I am in complete agreement that mandatory sport education and physical exercise should be enforced in all basic and high schools because of the positive impact it has on children’s fitness level and learning ability. Therefore, I recommend that school children should be mandated to participate in sporting events in schools.