Some say that due to heavy traffic governments need to build more roads in metropolitan cities. While others argue that this is not the right solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your reasons and examples.

Traffic problem is increasing from the past years. The government should take action to build new roads in metro cities. This essay will argue why there is a need for building of new roads in metro cities is the right solution or not. Let us discuss about the same.

Its true, traffic is increasing every day with increasing population. Government should take action to build new road network to reduce traffic as per increase in demand of vehicles. Last year, construction of yamuna expressway in India has reduced traffic. Additionally, the proposal should be made to construct more highways as per the demand of vehicles. It has resulted in more demand of building new infrastructure as per traffic situation.

However, construction of road is not a gud solution to the traffic problem. Roads are constructed by cutting the forest and require investment. It results in wastage of water, burning of plastic material, increase in dust which effects the life of many people with the pollution. Last year, building of barapullah in Delhi made the life of the people hell. Smog of burnt waste material spoiled the life of nearby people. Additionally, government should push the people to use more public transport. Recently, Delhi government has started odd even scheme to reduce air polution. It has resulted in 10 per cent decrease in pollution and traffic. These actions can be taken by government to enforce people to reduce traffic on roads.

In my opinion, both views are correct. In some situation it's necessary to build roads like in urban cities where road condition is very bad. Its a government job to decide whether construction is required or not. More road building is also waste of fund if nobody uses it. I agree with both the views.