In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

It is unacceptable that nowadays, most of the people general opinion about females who can capable to study literature only but men can handle both specially in science subjects. My point of view, totally disagree this matter and women has propensity to win to take any subjects that I am going to describe below.

To begin with, some of them still they believe that women has a tendency to manage their family and they have a plethora of responsibilities in family lifestyle, in this scenario, which they can not take it up heavy subject. In addition to that, Men has to earn more money that their responsibilities to manage family commitment for financial wise. However, some people think that men can easily learn mathematics and science rather than women in order to this traditional mentality women are generally prefer with literature. For instance, In India, there are 44% women who preferred literature to look for a teacher job or college lecturer.

On the other hand, women has empowered who can achieve anything and they can do tremendous work what men are doing. Actual trend of gender discrimination even in education should be stopped. Good news is that women in many engineering and technology subjects are already occupying half of the seats in many prestigious universities. Thus the day is not far away when the social custom or emotional aversion of parents would accept that their daughters are just as talented as their sons are in any areas including science. For instance, great scientist like Kalpana Chawla and Marie Curie both has proved that women can achieve in any technology and any subjects.

To conclude this, women empowerment is quite an important factor for the overall development of a nation and that is why females should be given a fair chance to participate in any subjects including science majors in schools. This trend would bring more positive outcomes than restricting their fields of education and work.