Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative development?

It is admitted that mobile phones are impacting on the studies of children. Therefore, many schools have banned the usage of phones on campus. In my opinion, I support that this is a positive development as a limitation on the access of phones can improve learning at schools.

Restriction on mobile phones in the class can reduce distractions and improve studies. In other words, a constant urge to check the notifications on the phone might lose the attention, which deliberately distracts the minds of students from academics. If the usage of mobiles in the classroom is banned, students could easily emphasize on their study. An article published in ‘The Guardian’ revealed the schools that had restricted the mobiles on campus, improved the performance of their students in academics for about 90% as compared to those institutes, where phones are allowed. Therefore, a complete ban on access to mobile phones at schools is always beneficial.

Furthermore, curtailment on the phones at the campus can promote the wellbeing of students. Because of the limited addiction to mobiles, children can not only attracted to the playground but also spend their free lectures and lunchtime with their classmates. This will engage them in healthier activities, despite sitting alone with a cell phone. Take high schools of Norway, for example, the blanket ban on mobile phones has triggered the students towards sports such as basketball and hockey, which, thereby, made them all-rounders. Hence, a strict restriction on phones by schools is advantageous as students themselves cannot mark the line on their mobile usage.

In conclusion, I believe that a complete ban on phones for students can be a better option to enforce by schools because this will enhance their focus to study and study-related activities.