In some societies the number of crime committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age teenagers who commit major crime receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that in some societies, the crime rate has been increasing among young children. Some people argue that teenagers ought to be given the same punishment that adults get, if they commit a major offense. However, I completely disagree with this point of view.

There are several reasons supporting the viewpoint why the adolescents should not be given the same punishment as adults. This is owing to the fact that teenagers have impressionable minds which help them to reform themselves easily. Put simply, a minor person is the one who can easily correct their behaviour with the help of counselling sessions. On the contrary, if the legal system gives them hard punishment, it can become difficult to change their criminal minds for the rest of their lives.

Statistics reveal that the number of young convicts who reoffend has declined over the years due to the effective behavioural therapies in rehabilitation centres. Another possible reason why teenagers should be saved / protected from serious punishments is that their mental ability to choose the right and wrong direction do not get developed in this age. That means, this is that time when they imitate others without knowing the consequences of their actions. Hence, it is an awful idea to put minors behind bars and give them rigorous punishment.

In conclusion, after analysing the situation it is not hard to see that juveniles can be easily reformed with counselling, it may not seem like a good idea to give strict punishment to them. Therefore, I believe that it is important to consider their age while giving penalty.