Some students work while studying. This often results in lacking time for
education and constantly feeling under pressure.
What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?
Nowadays, there are a lot of students who work while studying. Although this tendency may
lead to negative results, the number of young people who sacrifice education for work is
growing. I believe that this problem has certain causes and can be solved by taking special
measures.
It is apparent that most of the students who work have many financial expenses to meet. One
common cause is high cost of education. As many colleges and universities set high tuition fees,
some families cannot fully afford the higher education for their children. Consequently, these
students have to work to pay university and college fees. The other cause is living expenses.
Many students study away from hometown, and have to pay for accommodation, food,
entertainment etc. As it is often hard to cover these expenses, students are forced to earn money
to afford their living. I think that the problem of students working during their studies results in
lower quality of education and has no benefits at all. Thus, it should be solved on the
governmental level.
I can suggest two possible solutions to this problem. Firstly, the government could make higher
education free. For instance, this result can be achieved by financing educational establishments
from the country’s budget. Not only will it make universities and colleges accessible for
everyone, but it will also reduce the number of working students. The second solution is
promoting unpaid e-learning. Such form of distance education doesn’t require a lot of resources
to be maintained. What’s more, students don’t have to leave their homes and can plan their
schedules the way they prefer.
In conclusion, I believe that mainly lack of financial resources causes students to work, but this
problem can be solved by lowering the amount of financial expenses students have to meet.