Many people try to look younger than their age. What are the causes people do this. Do you think this is a good thing or bad thing?

Age is not just a number for countless people; in fact, it is an imperative parameter in our lives. Some people look older than their age while others younger. Yet a huge number of people give preference to look young due to numerous reasons. This essay will first outline a few very important causes for it, and then explain how this trend is completely impertinent.

To begin with, one of the most indispensable reasons is gaining employment opportunities and confidence. Most companies, these days, consider only those candidates as their prospective employees who are attractive, which are usually younger generation. Marketing manager, for example, depicts the profile of a company; therefore, companies prefer fresh people. Similarly, show-business is another area where this pattern is strictly followed. For all these reasons, looking younger is important for old people, so that they could further increase their working possibilities. Furthermore, old people are usually diffident and this has become a concept in our society, Therefore, people who are very conscious about their self-esteem, they attempt to look young to boost their confidence.

The above reasons are understandable but if factors, such as cost and success rate, are taken into consideration, they might seem impertinent. Cosmetic surgeries are quite expensive; people spend millions of dollars on it; however, very few are successful. For example, Couteney Cox, who is a famous actor from TV serial Friends, transformed her face to look young, but that transformation was a complete failure. As a result, her face deteriorated and lost her natural beauty.

In summary, bright job prospect are available for younger generation, but this does not mean that people should take any step to look younger. This is because of expenses involved in those procedures and does not necessarily always succeed. It is, therefore, recommended that people ought to avoid this trend and feel confident in their real age and appearance.