Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. Do you agree or disagree? Include relevant examples from your own experience.

There are some who think that salaries that are paid on the basis of the number of sale and production. However, there are a number of other performance indicators which can be applied and the not the heads under discussion. I strongly disagree with the contention that numbers should be the basis.

On the one hand, there are many professions which do not involve making or selling something. As such, in that area, it will be an impossible task to assess the income of the person. For instance, the teachers only teach the students and there is no head to calculate the figures as stated. In addition, in some professions, there are different motivating factors like respect and recognition that one receives from the people. As such, the income cannot be directly calculated solely on the basis of a hypothetical formula.

On the other hand, even if the gains are to be calculated on the basis of the numbers in those circumstances, there are many factors which ought to be considered. Further, there are many external factors which are not within the control of the people and as such in case of any act of god it would mean that the person would have no remuneration. For example, in case of a war of one country with another or an earthquake would tantamount that the employee will take home nothing. Thus, this should not be allowed.

In conclusion, the management has many heads to keep make sure that there is a level of job satisfaction and a love towards the work undertaken by them. Furthermore, every employee should be hired on basis of a fixed pay with an advantage of performance-related pay as an extra.