Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What are the problems of this issue? What can be done to solve this problem?

As the young generation continues to desert rural homes and villages and live in urban areas permanently, what is left is the aged population. Although this trend has presented significant challenges, there are some solutions to address this matter.

The main problem of young migrants to city capitals is congestion. Since there would be more household waste and more cigarette smokers, this overcrowding could worsen urban pollution. Crimes such as burglary, shoplifting and drug trafficking are also apparent in large cities as overpopulation leads to fewer job opportunities. Meanwhile, the major issue in the rural setting is the reduction in the labor force and this decline can be aggravated by the retirement of old workers. As a consequence, this could weaken the economy of rural households and the people there may have no other choice but to settle in cities that are already congested.

In order to encourage young rural residents to remain in their hometowns, the government may improve the local infrastructures. Provincial mayors are capable to expand their universities and technical schools which might draw the attention of college-bound students to further their education. Public-private partnerships can support small business offices in rural places that may provide stable, long-term work for young job seekers. Finally, rural community council has the influence in enhancing network signals by allowing telecom companies to construct more cell towers within the boundaries of the countryside that may overcome isolation and possibly will attract young individuals to live in such places.

In conclusion, while there are several issues regarding the urban migration of young people, this situation can be improved if public leaders concentrate its strategies on developing rural areas.