Some young people leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to resolve this situation?

Nowadays, it is widely observed that youths are moving to big cities from rural areas, leaving the adults alone. This essay will focus on the vital reasons for this movement and suggest viable solutions to rectify this issue.

A city is an area, in which a great number of people live close together, where job seekers could easily find opportunities over the countryside. In cities, there are numbers of hotels and other industries such as banks, harbour, airport and markets, hence Cities demand for more workers and professional because of the availabilities of the vacant positions. Therefore, there are more jobs opportunities in the cities than in other parts of the country. Besides, all major and affluent universities are located in or nearby a town, hence, teenagers after finishing their secondary education, are shifting to cities from the home towns to continue the education and subsequently, they could easily secure a job in the job market rather than going back to the native place. Despite there are many disadvantages, like traffic congestion, unhealthy life, of living in cities, people like to live in the capitals because guaranteed work.

To mitigate this problem, the government or the authority of the local areas, should develop the rural areas into towns, facilitate them same as cities and create more job opportunities in rural areas where people can continue to live in their home while doing the jobs. For example, the authorities should encourage and help the families to uplift the rural economy by granting loans and technical advice to farmers. By doing so, more job will automatically be created. Therefore, the increasing trend towards cities from villages could be controlled.

In summary, less job market in the countryside and the minimal government support to the villagers are the main problems for the youths to consider for city life. This can be resolved by balancing the economic development and the employment market between the major cities and remote regions.