Space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things.What is your opinion?

Outer space has become the cutting edge of the modern technology. Though the continuous research and development, there is an argument that exploring space is a waste of money, while there are more urgent needs to be addressed on earth, such as reducing poverty and preventing environmental destruction. However, I completely disagree with this opinion for two reasons.

To start with, many of the technologies from which we get used to enjoying in daily life originate from space research. With the help of satellites, we would not be able to follow global events as they happen, nor give populations any warning of approaching disasters. Also, space research benefit the technologies closely related to the production of life necessities. Solar battery, originally invented for moon rover, is becoming popular as the energy for heater and even vehicle around the world. In addition, technology of food preservation like dehydrated vegetables is born of the research on how astronauts can eat vegetables in space. The application of this technology has brought considerable convenience to those living in poverty or dry region.

Second, we cannot foresee the distant future, but it has been generally accepted that eternality is never a truth. Sooner or later, a devastating disaster, like a comet strike, may come and destroy the whole planet. Thus, we ought to prepare a back-up plan and develop the capability to escape from the earth and survive in a completely strange area. It cannot be denied that improving living standard and enhancing environment protection are important, but if space exploration is halted, the valuable knowledge about human’s future will never be acquired.

In conclusion, space research is never uneconomical, nor impractical. To promote the efficiency and effectiveness of the space technology advance, I believe a joint cooperation with fairness and openness among the world deserves proper consideration of the world leaders.