In the modern society, schools are no longer necessary as we could have so much information throughout the internet that children could study at home as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A man without an education, many of us believe, is an unfortunate victim of adverse circumstances, deprived of one of the greatest opportunities. The contrivance of the Internet has greatly revolutionized mode of education. People have been debating for years of the pros and cons of distance learning without reaching any definite agreement. Personally, tele-education does diversify people’s option of acquiring knowledge and enjoy some merits, yet, the benefits are dwarfed by the troubles it brings along.

Seen from the positive aspects, some virtues could be gained via on-line education. First,distance education reduces the need of the presence of teachers, however, widely popularizes exceptional educational resources. More precisely, one can avail himself of rich on-line courses as long as he gets enrolled in the university. Meanwhile, audio and video files can be constantly repeated. Besides, on-line education not only saves the trouble of commuting but also provides flexible way of learning. In this sense, it is especially suitable for special learning group, sick students, disabled self-learners and occupied employees could serve as good examples.

Problems, however, inevitably ensue. Initially, it is highly possible that some young computer learners might fail to excel academically due to the fact that they either indulge in on-line games or are distracted by on-line chat room. This is especially true for those who lack self-disincline. Without the ideal atmosphere created by conventional teaching, plenteous learners might end up losing zeal in learning and becoming lazybones. Also, individual learning experience might make young adults become socially inadequate, even isolated and inferior. The Internet might enact the role of facilitating teaching, yet, only educators could enlighten wisdom, kindle study interest and care for spiritual growth. Eventually,the popularity of distance education is a challenge for learners in those poverty-stricken villages or remote rural areas. Traditional classroom education is, virtually, indispensable for those who lack basic skills of computer.

To conclude, I re-affirm my conviction that online education is only the supplementary tool of conventional education, students ought to receive traditional classroom education.