Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future Others by contrast are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than h

It is clear to see that artificial intelligence has now reached into almost every area of our lives and this phenomenon is believed only going to grow. However, despite repeated praise for AI’s achievement, some critics express acute anxiety about the possibility that one day AI will outstrip human being. In my opinion, wonderful as AI seems, entrusting our future to AI is too risky.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that AI has been playing a significant role in this changing world. In factories of the famous car company Honda, almost every step of car making is done by giant robots where a systematic AI is implemented, and the defective rate is likely to drop to nil, contributing to a higher effectiveness and efficiency while saving both raw materials and human resources. AI technology has also been proven leading to a safer life. AI-supported Voice Control, Forward Collision Mitigation, Land Departure Warning system in new vehicles are designed to mitigate the risk of distraction, inattention and blind-spots so that drivers are more capable of dealing with various road affairs.

However, I believe it is through rose-coloured spectacles that most advocates look at the development of AI. Perhaps the most obvious impact is the shrinking employment rate. Although the use of robots may require employers to create a few job opportunities for professional technicians, thousands of manual workers are faced with layoffs. This fact is likely to result in horrendous pressure on the labour market and, moreover, a tendency to seduce the young generation into studying IT while depressing those who opt out. In the long term, an over-centralised talent market is certain to happen and impede social development in other fields. In addition, it is by no means acceptable that a moral issue in AI, though unnoticed temporarily, can be ignored. Today most AI research is designed and conducted by private organisations, while governments are generally absent from their roles of supervisor, failing to put any relevant law or set of regulations into effect ever. In another word, the direction of future AI is solely decided by certain researchers’ willingness, and the public are under no legislative protection if those who design AI lose their conscience and are going to control human life by manipulating their creature.

To conclude, AI is likely to be a suspect trigger for social instability, and AI-related research should be put under more strict supervision and control by the governments and the public before it is put into general practice.