Sports events get the nations together and help alleviate the violence in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

The history of human race is filled with violence – from the ancient tribal confrontation to the modern age wars. People have pondered for ages to solve this problem to bring world peace and harmony. And, many of them have agreed that organizing international sporting events releases tension between the nations and bring them together. This essay will evaluate and support the notion with some reasons and examples.

To begin with, sporting events such as the football world cup, Olympic shifts focus of the citizens to an environment free from geo-political turbulence. Though world sport events tend to run for two to three weeks, it shift focus to a tension free atmosphere. And, citizens from different nations forget everything when they gather in the stadiums or sports arenas to watch their teams play in global events. People not only forget differences, but also realize all people should equally respected. For example, during Olympic games, people gather from all over the world in the host country.

Moreover, emotions are released during the adrenaline filled event when one’s country compete. Players are seen accepting losses with true sportsmanship. As they are role models, it is inevitable that same spirit flows to other facets of life. In addition to, common affection for the sport itself makes forget their differences and grudges based on nationality. Some studies have also found out the decrease in violence in the months preceding international sporting occasions.

To sum up, based on above reasons it can be concluded that the world sporting event are the precursor to world peace which is backed by both studies and ideology of mankind.