Students prefer doing part-time jobs during their studies

What are the advantages or disadvantages of this?

Students work as a part-time employee while pursuing education. There are several factors that encourage them to take up part-time jobs and this trend has a positive aspect to generate extra income and negative side of this is, they get less time to focus on studies because they are off campus.

On the downside, while working as a part-time employee, he or she would not have enough time to study. Despite this, they are more focused when in class because they are easily able to relate what was taught in class since they synchronize it with their practical work. For instance, In 2002, Pearl’s academy disclosed evidence of part-time students, which stated, 89% of students who work as part-time are more focused than those who do not.

At this tender age, while working during the academic year, the graduates reap a lot of benefits by the extra source of income. This is to say that, they gain the freedom to purchase things without being dependent on their parents for pocket-money. In addition, they could also input their achievement of work on their resume. For example, as per The London Times, 42% of graduates work part-time and the average percentage of rank is constantly around 90% when compared to those who do not work.

In conclusion, working for part-time while studying has both merits and demerits. Despite a lack of time to study as a disadvantage, this also has a positive side, which helps them to gain some extra income and experience as an advantage.