Studies have suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things.

The dearth of physical activities or creativity in today’s life on many children in comparison to the past has become a frequent subject of debate. This alarming trend has caused by several reasons, however, there are some effective step that can be taken to deal with this issue.

To begin with, whilst statistics can be refuted, there is convincing evidence which indicates the reduction of exercise or creativity among students. The reasons vary from personal preference to society and educational system effects. But the result is the same which is less-active generation. First of all, it is obvious that the recent contemporary lifestyle brings a new set of concerns with this regard. Take online learning as an illustrative example which has been significant popular among developed societies. Despite the fact that this method of schooling has some merits, clearly results in less not only physical activities but also less interpersonal interactions which can trigger the out-of-box thinking method. Secondly, it seems that this issue is receiving not enough attention in the educational curriculums. For example, in the past, it was compulsory to pass at least two course of different sports in Iranian schools, while nowadays, it is up to students.

On the other hand, there are some profound measures that can be taken to address this problematic situation. The main and perhaps the most important step is raising the public awareness about the negative impacts of this lifestyle. In fact, students and their parents should be informed about the possible health problem that are certain to arise due to the absence of exercises. As well, they should learn how mental activities help them to brainstorming and finding alternative solutions when a problem occur. Another action is about encouraging students to engage in this kind of activities. For instance, some discounts on cinema tickets or free of charge rides for those who have took part in school games including sport or computer games. The third solution would be the government role by providing all the people with opportunities of family events such as public cycling to encourage all the age group to do exercise.

In conclusion, considering all mentioned points will provide a concrete foundation that the dearth of exercises and mental activities is a major concern that should be tackle by applying some simple but fundamental steps such as education, prize system, and motivation.