"Telecommuting" refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades.

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Telecommuting has been rapidly increasing across many countries, providing opportunities to employees and employers to connect and work remotely. It is asserted that in future, this trend would be widely accepted by most of the organizations. However, this drift has both pros and cons, which are discussed in subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with the merits, the first and foremost significant benefit of work from home is that it provides flexibility to employees. In fact, a sense of freedom increases the happiness index of workers. As a result, professionals would become more productive as well as they get plenty of time to spend with their family members. Another prominent advantage is, companies can save a lot of money. In other words, companies have to spend huge amount of financial funds to facilitate comfortable environment in office, and, if people can work from home than it will cut organizations expenditures on electricity bills, internet bills and many other amenities. To illustrate an example, a renowned multinational company named IBM closed their 17 offices in US and provided their workers work from home, and it was a huge saving of money. Furthermore, this transformation also gives opportunity to individuals to save more time, as everyday a lot of commuting is involved to be present in office. Hence, they can utilize this time to be more efficient and effective in their professional and personal work, which further enhance work life balance.

On the flip side, there are a few demerits of this transformation. Teleworking may have some negative impacts on team work. As a matter of fact, communication between team members is less effective when people work distantly from distributed places as compared to working under same roof. Consequently, it not only becomes hard for team members to solve problems which require more collaboration but also lead to poor professional relationships. Besides this, working from home can be distractive, especially for parents having young children. For instance, kids may not able to distinguish between office and off hours of their parents and keep on disturbing them, which can be annoying experience for workers. Thus, such situations may have devastating impacts on a professional`s own career.

To conclude, despite the advantages of saving time, money and ease to work that telecommunication can offer, the disadvantages of poor team work and disturbance at home should also be taken into consideration.