There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have

children.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

The phenomenon of deciding not to have an offspring after marriage is burgeoning at a staggering rate across the globe. This essay will suggest that this approach begets benefit in terms of augmenting their monetary status, and loneliness as the biggest drawback.

The primary advantage of opting a childless life is money-saving. This is to say that in this inflation era, there is an upsurge in living-cost; it is difficult for a family of two to make both end meets facilely. Moreover, the expenses of children are unaffordable for a married couple: babysitter, medical cost and school expenses. Therefore, this money can be saved to improve their own lifestyle so that they could live their lives with gratification. For example, an American citizen on average earns 10,000$ per year, while the average expense of a 5-year school-going child is estimated as 5000$ per year, this huge chunk of money gives rise to this phenomenon.

Despite the advantage above, the major drawback of not choosing a progeny is isolation. In other words, in older age when couples were not able to manage their lives on their own due to decreasing health and fitness levels, it could give rise to emotional distress and several mental illnesses. For example, psychologists revealed that in the lives of couples who do not have children face a lot of trouble because when one partner passed away, the others tend to feel alienation and might undergo many psychological challenges.

To conclude, many married couples have consensus on a childless life. While this essay argued that this decision is helpful in terms of saving a hefty amount which could be later spent on themselves; however, in their old age they face a plight due to lack of attention and care which an own child can offer.