There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessments?

To grade the level of understanding about the subject in students assessing through exams is becoming more popular among teachers rather than assessing continually throughout the year. This essay will explores merits and demerits of this approach.

Firstly, one of the main advantage of examining students through paper based exam is that it creates competition among students. Once the exam dates announced, the euphoria of competition develops among students and they are seeing in libraries. For instance, when I was in university, once the semester exams approached, we all started studying in library till late in the night. Secondly, it develops personality and confidence in people, especially oral examinations. The viva exam is the one where examiner verbally analyze the knowledge of students. This not only creates confidence but also develops the personality and make them ready for the practical life.

On the other hand, the main disadvantage of this is the development of a cramming habit. The students only memorize the answers without understanding them leading to achieving good grade but lacking in knowledge of that subject. Furthermore, exams effects badly on the health of students. In the environment of competition, they cannot able to handle the stress and anxiety resulting in addicting to medicines. This greatly effects there grades also.

In conclusion, although the exams creates confidence and develops confidence in people but also it deprives them from good health and promotes the habit of memorizing. So, institutes should devise a mechanism that not only assess the knowledge of students but also develop their personality.