There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In recent years, the approach of using exams as form of assessment has risen in popularity over the alternative of continual assessment. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and drawbacks that have resulted from this switch.

Looking firstly with positives, a crucial advantage that examinations have as form of assessment is that they leave little room for cheating. This is because exams are taken under the control of invigilator whose job is to detect the candidates breaking any rule. In contrast, continual assessment creates a risk of plagiarism, where some students can complete their work with help of the internet. Besides reduce cheating, another advantage that exams are very time-efficient. As they come once or twice a year, this leave sufficient time to students to prepare and revise.

Nevertheless, exams as form of assessment do present some drawbacks. For instance, some students might lose concentration when they put under pressure. Considering this pressure, even some students are very intelligent and creative, but their minds under high pressure goes blank and perform poorly. Another disadvantage of this system is that there is small time window to test students’ knowledge in full. Unlike continual assessment, there is limit to the questions being ask in the exam, which leave less scope to analyze the performance of the students.

In conclusion, although exams as form of assessment are very beneficial in terms of cutting cheating and improving efficiency, it is important to consider that they may harm students’ concentration and are arguably not as thorough as continual assessment.