'Tourism is always a force for good which enables people of different countries to

understand each other.’

To what extent do you agree with this idea?

In recent times, travelling has become a hugely popular activity. However, in my opinion, although tourism industry play a vital role in promoting trust and understanding between different nations, this is rare as travelers can create tension as well.

To begin with, it is important to acknowledge that tourism can help to broaden people's horizons. For instance, exploring unfamiliar regions give people a chance to experience new cultures and meet people from different backgrounds. As a result, people can enjoy a deeper appreciation for the world. Another significant cause to consider is tolerance, which develop among local populations. Travelers may be not aware of overseas laws and implications of their actions, but local societies show tolerant of their misunderstanding and allow them to learn about cultures and traditions of the host country. By doing so, local people not only help to boost their economy but also embrace cultural diversity.

That said, there are often some concerns raise when tourists trip abroad, not least among them the potential negatives of contact between cultures. This is because tourists usually cause pollution and damage the ecology of the country. This can be been seen in litter thrown in Paris and in damaging ecology by desert safari in Africa. Consequently, this creates tension between different countries which foster resentment and distrust, rather than good understanding between nationalities. Moreover, this is always said that tourism allows the flow of wealth from the developed countries to poor nations, but this wealth usually grabbed by private companies and officials, and tends not to trickle down to the local populations.

In conclusion, while tourism brings the number of benefits in terms of experiencing new cultures and developing tolerance, it is important to consider that this also harm environment of the host country, and rare benefits of the boosted economy to the local people.