These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As we move into the twenty-first century, technology is affecting many different areas of life and social communications are no exception. Indeed, the traditional forms of relationships has revolutionized by the internet as well as mobile phones. While there are some drawbacks involved in this trend, I believe the benefits are more prominent.

On the one hand, many commentators justifiably argue that there are advantages for the people who are tend to use the smartphones and internet for communicate. To begin with, interacting through these worthwhile tools enable individuals to make a faster and easier connection with other people in different places on the globe. Simply put, the certain mobile apps such as Skype, Facebook, Instagram and so on allow families and friends in different corners of the world to keep in touch whenever they want and share their photos, videos and other documents. People, moreover, can be more social and enhance their knowledge concerning other cultures by communicating with foreigners in a more fascinating way. This in turn also provides people any access to more information about jobs, education and healthcare

However, the drawbacks, cannot be ignored. The most axiomatic argument is concerned with the lessen people’s emotion in conversation. That is to say, the people who are compelled to interact with their relatives by virtual devices suffer from lacking of the physical contact that are needed in emotional conversations. This in turn would jeopardizes intimacy in relationships between people and pose a threat to quality of interaction. In addition, these days most people are addicted the high-tech gadgets and spend long hours surfing the net which leaves them with little time to communicate face-to-face. This in turn can develop a sense of isolation among individuals.

To conclude, in my personal opinion, although using the internet and smartphones might have some disadvantages, the merits are far more. It is not only bring a faster and easier connection for people, but also boost their social interactions.