Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Although customers are aware of their requirements, they get easily influenced by what is advertised to them via various mediums. This essay will demonstrate how I think the society is manipulated by brands that want you to believe you desire their products over and above your needs.

Marketing brainwashes the customer and convinces them that they need a certain product over another. . Brands work with experts in the field to create communication that not only peaks the viewer’s interest but also gets them to make a purchase. D’damas diamonds, for instance, created TV and print commercials where the man is proposing to his future wife with a diamond ring. Untill this time, it wasn’t common to ask someone to marry you with a diamond ring. This brand convinced the customer that a ring was needed and urged them to believe the bigger the diamond the better. The need for someone who wants to get married is to plan and save money for the future, but D’damas changed it to use all that money to buy an expensive ring.

Another reason for me to believe that advertising is how multi-national organizations can create a need where there is not one and change social norms to incorporate their products seamlessly into the consumers day-to-day lives. One such example is of a breakfast cereal called Quaker Oats, where they created a campaign by partnering with health consultants and nutrionists. They showcased advertisements where the experts are talking about the benefits of a healthy breakfast and how it is the most important meal of the day. A new worldwide norm was developed due to the success of this advertising campaign. Cereals are now a staple in everyone’s diet irrespective of its health benefits. Here it clearly shows that needs are secondary

In conclusion, advertising plays a very important role when it comes to increasing sales of consumer goods in the society irrespective of their need.