Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which the way sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising and people's real need are two marketing terms that are often used interchangeably by marketers. While consumer's basic needs are considered as the main selling factor, I think advertising plays a more important role in a high sale promotion of well-liked products.

On the one hand, people who live in this modern world are more conscious. Their needs and desires change as technology develops. The society also knows what people need and try to meet the consumer's high demand for goods, which lead to a growth of product's sales. In this case, advertisement plays an informative role in increasing people's awareness to make the right choices not making sale promotion.

On the other hand, advertising is a key part of modern business. It is a form of communication intended to persuade people to take some action. Companies tell consumers about their new products, services and benefits of specific products via advertising and try to manipulate people. They know the fact that people enjoy adverts so they use media, magazines, Newspapers and TV commercials to show their brands to consumers multiple times and encourage them that buying a product will make them happier. Consequently, when people see it out there, they are likely to buy those products, which plays a direct role in sale enhancement.

In conclusion, although consumer's real needs have an impact on sale promotion in some way, I think advertisement effects on selling popular consumer goods is much more significant.