In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Although working or travelling would be beneficial for young people between finishing high school and starting university studies. Disadvantages of this time-gap seem to be more than its advantages.

On the one hand, students who work between finishing high school and starting academic educations become more familiar with difficulties of real life and society. They even understand how difficult is to find a suitable job after university, which makes them more patient, realistic and industry. If the young people work after high-school, they will learn to earn and save money. Altogether, they learn to live on their own and how to interact with people, which increase their self-confident and interpersonal skills. So when they start their academic studies, they not only have not serious financial problems but also have good working experience.

On the other hand, I believe that any time-gap between the young people's studies might have some negative consequences. At first, this gap between educations may lead to reduction student's enthusiasm to continue their educations, so when they return to study after one year working, they might have limited chance to succeed in top university's competition because they have not constantly concentrated on their lessons. Secondly, students who enter universities immediately after high school have more chances to find an appropriate and related job with a high salary in the future, which are more appreciable in terms of social and psychological.

In conclusion, young people should concentrate on their lessons and future goals after high school rather than working or travelling since advantages of working or travelling can be reached after university years too. Any time gap between high school and academy waste their time and energy and postpone their goals.