Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Advances in technology and communication and increased immigration led to the death of several languages. Although this phenomenon might have some consequences for society. I personally believe that it makes our lives far easier and more convenient in much broader ways.

On the one hand, the languages of a nation play an important role in introducing that nation. In some cases, it is considered a property of that nation. Also, it protects the culture, tradition and history of a group of people. When a nation loses a language, it also loses the potential of greater diversity in art, music, literature, oral traditions and custom. So some people believe that the government should try to preserve this diversity which makes society more interesting.

On the other hand, the primary goal of language is to communicate effectively. If there are fewer languages, communication of people from different nations would be much easier and effective. The advances in technology had a tremendous impact on the way we interact with each other. So the disappearance of several languages is inevitable. Languages change because people need better and easier communication way. With fewer languages, there will be no need to learn different kinds of languages, travelling to different parts of the world would be easy. Political and economic negotiations between nations would be much faster and easier. Sometimes extinction of a language is not only destructive but also it is helpful because this would reduce the language and cultural barrier we have in our world and people can share their customs and cultures with common language more easily.

In conclusion, we should not worry too much about language's disappearance and should accept the fact that fewer language in the world means better communication and better understanding among nations.