Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that the children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more successful adults.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Training children appropriately is a serious matter which concerns parents, principles and society. There are various views about whether children should compete or cooperate in their lives. I personally agree with those who believe that a child who is taught to cooperate will be more normal and useful adult.

On the one hand, when children start competing they try to find an effective way to succeed. They learn hard-work as they compete. They test new ways and sometimes they have to overcome their fears, which improves their creativity, self-confident and experience. Moreover, they would be more successful to find their favourite job in a competitive society in the future. They learn to live on their own and act effectively in their personal lives and society, which make a high-quality life with a sense of satisfaction.

On the other hand, I believe that competition might have negative effects on children's thinking. For example; during competition children undergo a great stress because they want to win and if they do not get their goals, they end up with frustration, which leads to anxiety. During a competition, children are selfish and careless about their friends so competition turns their friends to their competitors, which spoils intimacy among them and increase the sense of loneliness. I think that children who learn to co-operate rather than compete have sound and normal character. They learn to share their ideas with their friends and help them when they are in trouble. They do not try to make themselves divers from their friends, which makes a strong sense of love and friendship and also decrease the stress level. Cooperation teaches teamwork to children and also teach them how to respect other's ideas and achievements. Cooperative children can easily match with society's changes. They are flexible and can work with big companies and have a wide circle of friends.

In conclusion, although children with a sense of competition may succeed in some ways, I personally believe that cooperative children are more useful for both themselves and society.