Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which you consider to be the major influence?

Humans are differentiated from each other in terms of both appearance and personality. While research demonstrates that genes have an impact on our type of personality and improvements, I personally agree with the idea of our interactions with the environment play a more important role in our life.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that we are born with a unique genetic blueprint which shapes the basic characteristics of our personality as well as our physical health and appearance. Some people are born creative, some others brave, some are born neurotic or merry and cheery. We inherited our genes and therefore we are not able to manipulate them. Most of these traits can develop and become noticeable as we grow up. So some experts claim that the differences in genes led to the differences among people.

On the other hand, I believe that the effects of the environment like our lifestyle, family condition and life and job experience on our personality and achievements are inevitable. When you live with positive and happy people, they would affect you in a positive way. If you endure difficult situations for long period of time, it would turn you to a strong person because your mind and body learn to adapt to the environment, which changes your thinking, behaviour and personality. If a twin are separated at birth and each of them lives with different family, although they have similar genetic characters, they will not show the same personality traits.

In conclusion, while genes affect some parts of your personality, I think where and how you live, what you mainly do and people with whom you are talking have a great effect on your personality and achievements.