Some people think that parents should teach children to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are various factors that turn children into a better citizen. School or family cannot provide perfect situations of all these factors for children alone. I think both of them are equally paramount to train them for society.

On the one hand, family and home are the first effective places to convey the basic personal values to the youngster. Parents are the first role model for their teenagers since they live with their patents and mimic their behaviour. Children learn how to respect others, how to behave in a good way, they also learn love, kindness, empathy and sacrifice which have significant effects on social and personal developments of youth and they may not find all of these concepts at school. Most of the social problems like personality disorders, addiction, crime etc. are associated with a poor family environment or family breakdown.

On the other hand, children in the school environment experience other aspects of life. Young people face great numbers of students and teachers with different manners and personalities at school. They find more friends and discover various aspects of interactions like teamwork and collaboration. School provide a situation in where students learn important skills and knowledge which are essential for being an ideal and productive member of society and also make them ready to enter college then find an appropriate job because a good member of society is active and producer not just consumer.

In conclusion, I think both parents and school have a complementary role in training young people to be a normal person in society.