Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that parents should educate their offspring to become good citizens whereas others say that teachers at school should be the ones to do this job. While parents have very strong influences on their children, I believe that school is the place that can teach the young the right lessons of morals and behaviors.

On the one hand, people believe that parents should teach their own children because they have bigger impacts than anyone else. This is because every child knows that their parents can give them harsh punishments if they do not obey, therefore, children will listen to whatever their parents tell them. For example, a survey by the University of Social Science in Ho Chi Minh City showed that 30% of young ones in Vietnam learned and forcefully adopted greeting habits from their parents because they were afraid of getting scolded. However, I believe this is not ideal because many parents have wrong perceptions and they might teach their children bad manners and behaviors.

On the other hand, school is the right place for children to learn and become good members of society. This is to say that teachers at school are well-trained and only allowed to give children the right lessons. Hence, children are sure to be guided in the right directions. For instance, the majority of Vietnamese students are taught to give their seats in public places to pregnant women and the elderly whenever necessary while adults at home only tell them to do this when there is a sign. I strongly believe that, compared to parents, school will provide children with the right knowledge and behaviors to make them valuable citizens in society.

In conclusion, despite that children are more afraid and influenced by their parents, the school is where they learn good things which truly help improve their personalities.