Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People tend to have contradictory attitudes about who should teach children how to be good members of society. Some people believe parents are responsible for this issue while others think children should learn these skills at school. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my own idea on this matter.

First of all, it should be stuck in the mind that parents play a vital role in children nurturing since they are the first and the most reliable teachers in a child’s life. They are the closest persons who a child is in relation since the birth moment. It is obvious that each child would learn primary skills such as speaking or eating from parents. The educational role of parents would not be restricted to these initial needs, other features of a lifestyle can be taught by the parent’s behavior. Social interactions are standing as a significant instance. For example, the way that parents behave to elderly people or a neighbor or even a strange person in the street. Parents are the first role model for children. Another point that is worthy to note is the importance of childhood years in the building character process. In fact, the initial years of life, from birth to 5, are considered as a gold period that the personality of children would be formed.

On the other hand, there are some people who think children should be taught at educational centers such as schools. Although there is some truth to this idea, it is also true to say that before this stage, the biggest part of children's personality has been built at home. Also, the curriculums of most of the school include scientific subjects such as physics or mathematics. Another point is about peer pressure which would be very effective and can change the child’s character or the way he or he thinks. However, the school has a crucial role in the promotion and development of children.

In conclusion, it is clear that both candidates, parents, and school, would play an important role in bringing up a child and both of them can help children to be good people. On balance, however, I tend to think the impact of parents would be stronger since they are the first teachers and children spend the initial years of their life with them.