Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on the influence of parents and school on the behaviour of children. While some people argue that schools are more influential on students than their parents, on my point of view, I strongly disagree with with this argument. In this essay, I shall discuss factors strengthening my argument while analyzing both sides to a greater extent.

First and foremost, parents can influence their children in many ways such as appreciation, caring, kind words and spending quality time with them. For instance, if a child shows a bad behaviour in front of ousiders parents can make them to regret on that situation by advising and allowing them time to change their behaviour. In addition, parents are more close to their children compared to teachers, because students spend only one fourth of their time in schools.

On the other hand, in schools teachers get less time to develop their personalities due to heavy academic schedule they have to complete within a year of time. For example, in Sri Lanka there are more theoretical subjects in the academmic module than the time allocated for extra curricular activities and sports. In school, students have to survive in a multi national and multi-cultural society who are adopted in different environments. Therefore, teachers need to closely monitor the disciplene of their students because they do also have a responsibility towards their students.

In conclusion, it is recommended to revise the curriculum of the schools to inculcate good qualities in younger generations in order to avoid bad behaviour. It is believed that parents need to find more time to spend with their children and take their contribution at domestic work. In nutshell, both parents and teachers have to play their role in an effective and efficient manner to avoid crimes in the society.